Medical Laboratory accreditation (ISO 15189)

AIUKs provides accreditation to the internationally recognized standard ISO 15189 Medical Laboratories – requirements for quality and competence.

AIUKs accreditation covers the following disciplines:

  • Clinical Biochemistry – Toxicology – Endocrinology
  • Haematology – Blood Transfusion
  • Microbiology – Virology – Parasitology – Serology – Mycology
  • Histopathology – Cytology – Mortuaries
  • Immunology
  • Genetics
  • Andrology
  • Histocompatibility & Immunogenetics

Medical laboratories can also be accredited as an External Quality Assurance Provider (EQA) to ISO/IEC 17043, Conformity Assessment – General requirements for proficiency testing.

AIUKs also accredits organizations which provide point of care testing against ISO 22870 (Point of Care Testing: particular requirements for quality and competence), applied in conjunction with ISO 15189 (Medical  Laboratories: particular requirements for quality and competence). This accreditation is an important element in establishing and maintaining confidence in a point of care testing service.